Day 50: one second of video everyday (video)

 

Most of the seconds are captured with an iPhone camera. A few are recorded with a Nikon D5100 and one with a GoPro.
Most of the seconds are captured with an iPhone camera. A few are recorded with a Nikon D5100 and one with a GoPro.

 

One second isn’t a lot of time. In the photographs I’ve been sharing I’ve been capturing, what, maybe 1/60th of a second. But when one second becomes two and two become three they begin to add up. Seconds begin to tell a story. The story is mine.

In addition to taking one photo a day I’ve been taking one second of video a day. This isn’t my original idea; Cesar Kuriyama burst on to the seen with this video. He’s given a Ted Talk and has developed an app to help others complete this task. Mr. Kuriyama leads a much more interesting then I do, but life is life and this is a month of mine. My wife’s comment is that she doesn’t think the amount of time we spent painting is fairly represented. True.

Typically I record 3 to 4 seconds of video in the field. While paying attention to audio edits I cut it down to :01. The audio edits like a whistle, a glass clink or one word and context, a layer that stills don’t offer. A year from now my son is going say ‘broccoli’ differently than he did two weeks ago, I’m going to cherish that second.

Most of the video I shoot is done with my phone. I do have a few shots of with a DSLR and the shot of my car was recorded with a GoPro. I edit in Final Cut Pro, but any stock editing software like iMovie would do the job.

If you’re looking for another creative challenge, one that will result in a 6 minute and 5 second video of your entire year, complete with sound, then I’d suggest you take up the challenge.

Tomorrow I’ll be back to posting stills.

5 thoughts on “Day 50: one second of video everyday (video)

Leave a Reply

