Day 60: playing with light and movement

Through the first two months of this 365 project I’m learning quite a bit about photography. This is an example of bokeh. Bokeh is a Japanese word it describes the way a lens renders out of focus light. I set up some candles, added a point of light to catch some reflections and experimented with a slider. The slider images didn’t quite work out, so today I’ll feature a shot sans movement, but I will also share two with a dolly in.

60 bokeh

By using a slider and a slow shutter I thought the effects would be dramatic. I didn’t take into account the focus point would change so much on the candle at the end of the slider. Nonetheless it was a good experiment and something I wouldn’t have thought of trying had I not been looking through a ton of other photo blogs. The WordPress community is extraordinarily talented.

60 candle2 60 candle1

 

3 thoughts on “Day 60: playing with light and movement

Leave a Reply

