Day 63: adding depth

This morning it started snowing. It won’t stop for a day, or so. With that it’s needless to say that it is grey outside. On my walk in I tried a technique I’ve seen on other blogs. I made this photo by picking a center focus point, I closed the aperture as far as I could, used a 2.5 second shutter and attempted a steady, handheld zoom in from 55mm to 18mm. I’m pleased enough with the effect to make my post and not feel the need to worry about today’s shot any longer.

There really are interesting scenes all around us.

ISO 640, f36, 2.5 seconds with a 4 stop ND filter
ISO 640, f36, 2.5 seconds with a 4 stop ND filter
20 thoughts on “Day 63: adding depth

    1. my wife is encouraging me to take photos of people, actual moving things, I think it is a logical next step, though one I’ve been hesitant to try. Of my 64 photos only a few have people in them…thanks for stopping by, I appreciate the feedback.

      1. I noticed that there weren’t any people (only because I err on the other side and seem to only shoot people) – I actually love the effect they have on a running child. Maybe that is my challenge for you!

Leave a Reply

