Day 92: sun trail

A number of people have been sharing their camera toss, or intentional camera movement shots. I like this technique and have been using it quite a bit. This morning the sun was peaking over the horizon as I walked through the park to the bus stop. Here’s the result.

92 icm sun

Here’s the unedited photo. Closed the aperture as far as I could, used a 1.6 second exposure and put a 4 stop ND filter on.

92 unedited

As far as I can tell, there’s no wrong way to do this, just need to guess and check until you find something you like.

Lioncourt9 has shared a lot of wisdom on how to create good camera toss shots.

PhotoByHolly has recently been sharing photo’s she’s taken using ICM, too.

Thanks for the ideas. I’ll continue to borrow, and credit.

8 thoughts on “Day 92: sun trail

  1. Very nice! I love the dark tones, and the light streak shooting through adds a wonderful element to contrast with the dark. Thanks for the “shout out”, I really have been enjoying this technique. I’ve also been playing around with slow shutter speed portraits (having the subject move slightly while the shutter is open). That technique has been interesting to try out, as well!

  2. Camera “toss”?! As in you throw your camera in the air on a long exposure? Sounds scary! I think I’ll stick to the intentional movements of panning for abstract shots, I’ve made a blog post about it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

