Day 120: St. Paul bicycle commute [2]

[entry contains more than just this self-serving up-the-nose shot]

This season I hope to ride my bicycle to work and back 30 times. I’m not a hard core rider. I will only head out if the morning temperature is over 50F/10C. This morning marks the second trip in, I also biked last Friday. If I bicycle 30 times I will rack up over 400 miles. That’s 400 miles, or roughly 20 gallons of gas which will save around $70 in fuel costs, more likely, however, since I often bus in, it will save about $120 worth of bus fare. Add in some exercise and it’s not a bad deal at all.

The last article I read this morning before leaving for work was from Minnesota Public Radio and dealt with a bicycle summit on improving bike safety. Not mentioned as one of the ways to improve safety was, ‘do not take self-portraits while bicycling’. It should be for it’s not as easy as I thought. This isn’t a great picture, but since I was able to frame in my head and have no bats in the cave I’ll go with it.

I’ve created some new bicycling-related categories for the blog and will be using these, hopefully 30 days, to get me closer to 365.

too close? no bats in the cave...going with it
too close? no bats in the cave…going with it
I'm left handed while taking photos from a moving bike I'm only covering my front brake...bad idea.
I’m left handed but my camera, like most, is set for righties, taking a photo from a moving bike means only covering the front brake…bad idea.
1 sec shutter, f10...I'll try this sort of shot agin
1 sec shutter, f10…I’ll try this sort of shot again
Gotta love the peace and tranquility of an urban landscape.
Gotta love the peace and tranquility of an urban landscape.
Sunrise on April 30, 2013
Sunrise on April 30, 2013

 

 

Leave a Reply

