Day 164: editorial control and photo editing

Two photos. One edited. One true to life. Two different stories.

I tried to make this industrial plant look as sinister and nasty as possible.
I tried to make this industrial plant look as sinister and nasty as possible.
In actuality it's not that bad a looking place
In actuality it’s not that bad a looking place

I bike past this plant on my way to work. A recent post from D. Manny, a very, very good photographer, lead me to this quick study in the power of editing. His blog gave me a lot to think about.

6 thoughts on “Day 164: editorial control and photo editing

  1. Just a thought… how do you define “true to life?” If it looks different in one camera from another straight out of the camera, what is true? All the best with your project… !

    1. maybe I’m wrong in my thinking here…but I’d call true to life non-edited photos. I hadn’t thought that different cameras would render the same images differently.

      all in all I, being a novice, find it remarkable how much editing a photo can change the perception others have of the scene.

      thanks for the comment.

      Luke

      1. Cheers. Funny enough, this speaks to my question… a photography friend recently posted this in a photography forum. Which is true? Which lies? The sooner you can’t answer these questions, the better. 😉

        All the best, Luke. Keep shooting and succeeding in photography.

        Nev

  2. What an interesting concept- editing can have a profound affect on how an image appears compared to real life – we can manipulate the viewer more than we think. 🙂 I LOVE this in B&W.

Leave a Reply

