Day 183: heaven in a pie tin

My mom makes the best dessert known to mankind. You may think your mom can do better. You’re wrong. Sorry.

The strawberry season in Minnesota is maybe 10 days long. In that time my mom will head out to Afton Apple Orchard and will pick upwards of 20 pounds of berries. She’ll use seemingly half of them for a couple of strawberry pies. Tonight’s dessert is the dessert-of-the-year.

Feast your eyes on this.

Oh my god
Oh my god

I am proud to report that I did no post-processing to this photo. I captured it and it turned out the exact way I wanted it to.

Here’s shot of the lighting set up. I’m slowly learning a bit more about lighting. (ISO 100, 1/40, f/1.8, 35mm) Because my backdrop was on the small side I needed to be closer to the subject then I wanted to be. The shallow depth of field is a bit of a bother, I suppose I could have closed the aperture a bit and sped up the frame rate. Any other advice out there?

diffused and reflected the light coming from an east facing window...photo taken at 3pm
diffused and reflected the light coming from an east facing window…photo taken at 3pm
6 thoughts on “Day 183: heaven in a pie tin

  1. You are KILLING me with these amazing fruit shots…tell those folks at TPT to give you a raise ’cause the food network or Gourmet Magazine will be after you…gorgeous, gorgeous shot. I am still in love with the blueberries, however…

  2. As long as the berry season lasts there will be another pie. All this attention and the accolades of my grandchildren guarantees it.

Leave a Reply

