Day 193: MN National Guard soldiers return home from Afghanistan

Today a couple dozen Minnesota National Guard soldiers who have just completed a year-long mission in Afghanistan are home with their family and friends. I took some time off work so I could take my kids to the Roseville Armory to witness what has to be one of the happiest events you could find. I spent two weeks in Afghanistan as a reporter last year (see some snap shots here) I know only a little bit of the relief that was felt when the soldiers walked into the gymnasium. The tension, excitement, happiness and pride was heavy. Welcome home to the 147th.

While trying to take photos I realized how difficult it is to capture a moment that is just right. Maybe one or two of these are pretty decent, but as a whole I believe they do a nice job documenting the feel of the event.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 193: MN National Guard soldiers return home from Afghanistan

    1. thank you, it really is one of the happiest scenes I’ve found, though all of the soldiers and their families have a lot of work ahead of them. getting reacquainted with each other takes time.

Leave a Reply

