Day 360: the brilliance of Nick Offerman

I received Nick Offerman’s book ‘Paddle Your Own Canoe’ yesterday. It is a pretty brilliant book. I have had to read passages aloud to my wife on half a dozen occasions. She may be second-guessing her decision of buying it for me. Instead of running upstairs to read her these paragraphs I will make it my daily photo and post. Yes, I realize the irony in doing this. I do not believe Mr. Offerman would approve.

Page 79 –

“Choose your favorite spade and dig a small, deep hole, located deep in the forest or a desolate area of the desert or tundra. Bury your cell phone and then find a hobby.

Actually, hobby is not a weighty enough word to represent what I’m trying to get across. Let’s use discipline instead. If you engage in a discipline or do something with your hands instead of kill time on our phone device, then you have something to show for your time when you’re done. Cook, play music, sew, carve. Shit, BeDazzle. Maybe not BeDazzle.

The arithmetic is quite simple. Instead of playing Draw Something, fucking draw something! Take the cleverness you apply to Words with Friends and utilize it to make some kick-ass corn bread. Corn Bread with Friends – try that game.”

360

Leave a Reply

