Day 363: coming in for a landing

I’ve wanted to set up at Post Road, near the entrance to Fort Snelling State Park to catch the light trails of planes landing at the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport since last February. Had I been a smarter man I wouldn’t have waited until the 363rd day to do so. Day 221 would have been much, much warmer.

It’s exhilarating to be so close to the planes as they come in. Being illuminated by their headlights was a little eerie, the sound was phenomenal and the number of planes landing at the two runways I was relatively close to made for a fun couple of hours.

Guessing how long to keep the shutter open and at which point in the sky to be focused on took more patience than I could muster on a very blustery evening, but I will be back – no parking signs be damned – with my kids. They’d love it as much as I do.

6 thoughts on “Day 363: coming in for a landing

  1. Today’s spectacular photo’s prompted me to comment that as one of your followers, I have been enjoying each days ‘creative’ photo immensely. Thank you for taking this ‘challenge.’ I hope you will continue even after day 365! 🙂

Leave a Reply

