A spike in visitors due to…

…Reddit.

Three days ago, on a whim, I went to reddit.com to have a look around. If you don’t know what Reddit is I’m not the person to explain it to you. From what I can tell it is a place where grassroots information about specific topics is shared. It’s not a place for corporate messages. It has a message board feel. It’s not flashy.

I found Reddit communities for some cities I’ve taken photos of. Minneapolis, St. Paul, Duluth, the pages for these cities primarily house information about lost dogs, stolen bikes and things to see when visiting. I took a chance to put some of my photos (links to this blog) on the page. I have a sense I shouldn’t do this often for the there could be a backlash against me doing it, but the four posts I put up have generated some really impressive (for me) stats.

reddit

My statistics are never going to generate a livelihood for me, and the extra 1,500+ views resulted indirectly in only 3 new followers, but hey, eyeballs are eyeballs.

Take a look to see if it is right for you and your blog: my Reddit Page.

Leave a Reply

