The world at his finger tips

Who remembers having a set of encyclopedias? I sure do. They were from maybe 1981 or 1982, the set was blue. I had talked about having a set in our den so my kids could grow up with them as I did. It was just talk. I don’t shop. Period. Let alone peruse used book stores or antique shops. So, I was thrilled to receive a text from a friend this morning telling me he found a set form 1975 (my birth year) for $0.20 a volume. Why would anyone just buy a few volumes? I have no idea. He bought the full set for me. They’re now on my bookshelf and it feels good to have them.

First thing my son and I looked at was one of the S volumes. We read about Seattle, Saskatchewan, Dr. Seuss and Santa Claus. He was confused when I told him I didn’t think the Seahawks existed in 1975 so there wouldn’t be any mention of the team he is rooting for in the Super Bowl. He was confused. I suppose it won’t be the last time he’s confused by something in this set of books.

The world at his finger tips
The world at his finger tips
One thought on “The world at his finger tips

Leave a Reply

